Photos of “new” fur coat

This is the fur coat, has ties inside, and 2 huge hook & eyes on the outside.

This is the fur coat, has ties inside, and 2 huge hook & eyes on the outside.

Store label where it came from.

Store label where it came from.

At the bottom is says "seal dyed coney"

At the bottom is says “seal dyed coney”

Very pointy shoulder, was that style, or caused by the wire hanger it was on for years.  I put it on a much fatter hanger as soon as I got it home.

Very pointy shoulder, was that style, or caused by the wire hanger it was on for years. I put it on a much fatter hanger as soon as I got it home.

Here you can see where the coat shoulder sits, far behind my shoulder.

Here you can see where the coat shoulder sits, far behind my shoulder.

Anyone have pointers on photographing black clothes?

I can get the coat on, it’s a bit tight though.  Also the sleeves are a bit on the short side, I can’t just turn the cuff down, as there is lining fabric inside, to keep the bulk down I would guess.  I could move fur so that the sleeve is straight, but the bigger problem I have is that shoulder.   It is about 4 inches behind my shoulder point.  The coat is also very heavy, and warm, so I don’t know that I would wear it a lot.   Perhaps if I shorten it and take the bits I remove and add to the front/back between the shoulder and center, like a double princess seam?   This will take a bit of thinking.

No sewing again this week, I ended up having to go in to work, I was hoping it would only be for an hour or so, but ended up being about 6 hours, plus the drive time made an 8 hour day.  Then today, I thought I best start cleaning up the flower beds for winter.

Next time, pictures of the wool coat, and perhaps of the doll clothes my Mom made.

Leave a Reply

