Mystery Machine

Here are photos of the mystery machine, found last summer, sitting outside, barely under an open roof area at an antique shop going out of business.  I waffled, walked away….what’s that I hear?!?!   A quiet cry “Don’t leave me! Pleeeeease don’t!”.  Sigh.  My thoughts interrupted by the owners comment of “half price!”   My resolve was sunk.

She’s filthy, I have done nothing to her, other than sit her on the floor in the sewing room, out of the weather. The only part that moves is the pressure foot will raise and the bed comes off, otherwise she’s locked up tight.  I see no markings, other than what is probably a serial number on the top arm which reads (115997).  Now that I have had the bed off for photos, I don’t see anything that would catch the thread to make the chain stitches, at least I’m assuming she’s a chain stitcher.  If not, there’s a whole lot more parts missing.  Edit: After taking photos, I realized there is a bottom piece that looks like a serger looper.

 

Front view

Front view

Back view

Back view

front view with bed removed

front view with bed removed

back view under bed

back view under bed

IMG_2849

 

IMG_2850

bottom hook

2 tension pins, the front tension pin is empty

And now I realize no spool pin, but she does have 2 tension pins (1 missing the disks), might she have been for factory use?  I’d appreciate thoughts on her past!  And how to set her up for use if I ever get that far.

Leave a Reply

